Track Changes: Week 2

Starting this week, I’m documenting the beautiful things that I’m thankful for, and I will document the small changes I would like to grow in during the following week.

I’m sure I’ll be a bit repetitive sometimes, but I hope this project allows you to reflect on your own life!

The Beautiful Things

  1. Chasing Slow by Erin Loechner consistently in my hand, her words and wisdom.
  2. Watching Chasing Ice and Gasland back to back, knowing that one is causing the other. Being angry at obvious problems, being angry at greed and ignorance, my own ignorance about natural gas companies. I have never wanted a bicycle so badly.
  3. The ice frozen in intricate veins and arteries on the car’s windshield.
  4. My husband’s bible study drawing hanging on fridge.
  5. Hearing my husband pray out loud for us while we eat breakfast sandwiches.
  6. Laughing out loud to the My Favorite Murder podcast, the joy of that show.
  7. Going to a coffee shop 20 minutes away during the school week, during the school day. Knowing that I will graduate from grad school soon.
  8. Reading student homework responses on the class discussion board about sweeping generalizations and stereotypes, hearing them talk about real life things.
  9. Becoming involved in Destiny Rescue, using my skills in a meaningful way.
  10. Watching key episodes of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, always the ones where the gang performs something or other, and laughing with my husband. Realizing now that I don’t know how to spell Philadelphia without googling it.

The Growing Things

  1. Note the little things in more intricate detail, the way my husband laughs, the way he prays out loud.
  2. Let go of the failures, incorporate a bible verse into my everyday breathing (Lamentations 3:22: “Because of the Lord’s faithful love we do not perish, for His mercies never end”). Pray that one day I will be okay with accidentally tearing a hole in some girl’s sweater in high school or calling a guy from undergrad, who I hadn’t seen for a year, by the wrong name or getting too tipsy and sad at a good friend’s bachelorette party.
  3. Do not save expectations for fun and enjoyment and pleasure for the weekend. Live all days this week equally.
  4. Give freely as Erin Loechner says. Keep doing the dishes while he plays Fallout 4 to earn that platinum trophy.
  5. Don’t add more to my plate than I’m intended to add, slow down and commit to what is in front of me while I’m in this season.
Leave a Reply

