Progress Report: Things to Try in 2017

We’re only two months into the new year, but it’s time to check in!

My List

  1. Join a literary thing in the community: workshops, volunteerships, internships, or attending readings or lit fests.
  2. Get involved in a women’s group: a bible study or a creative group.
  3. Run a 5k for a good reason, recruit people to join me.
  4. Take a yoga class, learn how to relieve stress and build strength. I am such a weakling.
  5. Take a pottery class. Spin that wheel!
  6. Go camping. We bought the equipment at the beginning of summer but haven’t had a chance to try the tent, outside of our living room.
  7. Throw a themed party.
  8. Learn how to make good coffee. I’m not sure that I really know what coffee should taste like.
  9. Learn how to eat seasonally.
  10. Continually, like everyday, give my worries and anxiety to God. This one will take a lifetime, but I hope to me more aware of my brain and how it works.

Progress

  1. I’ve got some applications in the works. It’s also difficult to plan for these things when we’re not sure where we may live in August or even May. Grad school, at the moment, is sucking all my energy for doing things outside of school. One step at a time I guess.
  2. We’ll see what happens. We’re still looking at churches in the Cities. For whenever, or if, we end up there.
  3. I’ve become the social media volunteer for Destiny Rescue in the Cities, and I can easily see us planning a 5k for later this year! Sounds like a good fit to me.
  4. Nope. But I’ve started running! And Andrea posted about this yoga video series I may have to try.
  5. Nope.
  6. Nope. Too cold.
  7. Nope.
  8. Nope. But if you have resources for how to make good coffee at home, through whatever equipment, please post them below! That could really give me a jump start.
  9. Kind of. I’ve made lists for each month on what produce to buy, but I often forget to look at the list. We’ve really only just started introducing whole vegetables to our diets. If you know of any blogs that do seasonal eating recipes, please let me know in the comments below as well!
  10. Kind of. I’ve been giving Mark’s anxieties to God or praying about them, but I’m not sure about myself. The days are exhausting. The weeks have been exhausting. I definitely want more time in the Word, but I’ve been failing. I’m reading and writing constantly, and I have a lack of energy to do more. (Hmmm… maybe I should pray for that.)

Overall, I see that many of these things to try will happen after school is over, when we’re sure where we’re going to live. But I don’t want that to become an excuse for not doing some of these things.

And I also don’t want to be too tied to these things either. I mostly want to see how God’s plan will play out and what will happen!

 

 

2 Comments

  1. http://www.seriouseats.com/2014/06/make-better-pourover-coffee-how-pourover-works-temperature-timing.html

    ^ This is what we do. Essentially. I am definitely not a measurer and weigher… The biggest difference, I think, between “meh” coffee and awesome coffee is freshly (like within a week, coffee snobs would say immediately) ground beans. We have a hand grinder which takes f o r e v e r but it is much cheaper than the fancy burr grinders. But we also bought a super cheap German one because ain’t nobody got time to grind beans for like 20 minutes. Pour over coffee takes a wee bit more patience than using an automatic coffee maker, but it is much smoother and less bitter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

