Mother’s Day and the Acrostic Challenge

It’s Mother’s Day. Well, yesterday it was.

The pastor at church pointed out that Mother’s Day is a celebratory day, but it can also be a hard, painful day: children estranged from mothers, mothers estranged from children, mothers who have lost children, children who have lost mothers, and miscarriages.

It seems our culture likes to point out the celebration, but we often overlook or don’t take to heart the grief.

My own mom, Jennifer, has endured lifestyle changes and made self-sacrificial decisions all to help me survive the world. I’ve tried creating a little acrostic thing to share more about my mom. It’s like I’m in kindergarten all over again.

J is for jail-bird. No my mom has not been to jail, as far as I know, but I think we both share the same mentality about authority. We follow the rules, but we’re going to give our two cents about the way things should be. However, she is and was in her teenage years much more rebellious than me.

E is for entirely. My mom had me when she was 17, going on to her 18th birthday a few days after I was born. She chose to keep me even when family told her not to. My mom is entirely determined to make things work, whether that means sacrificing her friends and lifestyle to carry me or work two jobs while pregnant to prepare our life as a family. When there is a challenge in front of her, even if it’s pretty overwhelming, she will come out the other side.

N is for nice. Kind of. My mom is nice, but she won’t sacrifice saving face for the truth. She tells things how it is and doesn’t play social games. I admire this a lot given our current culture.

N is for not-your-grandma’s-music. Yeah, I stretched this letter. I grew up listening to Ozzy Osbourne, Metallica, AC/DC, The Beatles, The White Stripes, the Almost Famous soundtrack, Pink Floyd, Marilyn Manson, and 98.9 The Bear in Fort Wayne, Indiana. I remember my mom would quiz my brother and I on who we were listening to in the car. Was it Ozzy or Black Sabbath? She trained us to know the difference.

I is for in-charge. My mom didn’t like yelling at my brother to get up and go to school everyday during his high school years, but she did it because she loves him, us.

F is for family. My family is a unit of 4, but she hopes to create and sustain connections in our family. She doesn’t abandon family even if it feels like they’ve abandoned her.

E is for everlasting. My mom loves animals, and she will keep them alive as best she can. Our blind deaf dog gets his insulin shot everyday at the same time. I hope Ozzy’s grateful.

R is for roses. My mom loves gardening and planting things. Flowers. And I used to not like her rose tattoos when I was a toddler, but now I think her tattoos are cool. And they make me want my own black peony tattoo. Sorry, Mom, but you got the ball rolling, unfortunately.

Other Mothers

In the years to come on Mother’s Day, I’ll be celebrating other moms I know like Katie Agler over at katieandcaboodle.wordpress.com and my mom-in-law, Lisa. But now, it’s time to prepare for father’s day!

Leave a Reply

